02/12/08 [79]: j’arrive en france

December 2, 2008 at 10:11 pm Leave a comment

     

 

 

 

 

 

   
% swum:  
% days:    
totals: 79 days, 1416 lengths, 0 lengths to go, £585.00 sponsorship

Well, that’s it – a simple 12 lengths tonight took me to the end of the challenge and, as you can tell from the tricouleur at the top of this entry, I have arrived in France (j’arrive en france). Strangely I am quite pleased to have ended the challenge on day 79, given that the number 79 is a prime number though for the life of me I no idea why this thought excites me. After completing the swim we had a celebratory meal out (just to provide a bit of geographical confusion this was pizza) and I have now had the pleasure of embibing a bottle of bubbly (not all by myself…) [so if there are more than the normal number of mis-typed words in this entry you will have to forgive me]. How do I feel? Well it’s a bit of a mixture really – I have a quiet feeling of satisfaction coupled with a certain amount of inevitable anti-climax and a dose of loss thrown in (the previous experience most like this that I have had was the day that I had my PhD viva). I certainly feel that I have to replace this challenge with a new one soon because without I will feel a little less complete. I had a great card from my family, which contained some brilliantly funny pictures by my eldest daughter and a certificate that my youngest daughter had produced on the computer (she’s the IT whiz in our family). I will scan in the pictures tomorrow (hopefully) because they really are worth seeing (there are three, one of me in 2007, one at the start of the challenge and one now which is really rather flattering from a physical perspective) and will probably put one or two other pictures up at the same time.

One thing is for sure, although I won’t have the swimming challenge to keep me going, I am definitely going to maintain some kind of blog because writing these entries has been great fun. Even though I know that there are only a few regular readers I also know that quite of few people have dipped in over the last 11 weeks (in fact there have been almost 2000 views of individual pages). So, watch this space… I just have to finalise the title of the new blog and then I can get cracking. There will still be a few timswim related entries as I adjust to finishing the challenge, tidy up loose ends and chase the sponsorship money so that should keep things going for a week or two.

For now though, it is time to say merci beaucoup, au revoir et bon nuit…

Entry filed under: Week 12.

01/12/08 [78]: future challenges 29/12/2008: mutley musings

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


recent posts

Categories

site visits

  • 3,900 visits

