01/12/08 [78]: future challenges

December 1, 2008 at 11:40 am 1 comment

% swum:    
% days:    
totals: 78 days, 1404 lengths, 12 lengths to go, £585.00 sponsorship

Ouch – 30 lengths this morning as planned, but boy does my left arm hurt now. I obviously did pull a muscle somewhere yesterday but unless something else happens to prevent me I will stick to my schedule, swim through the pain and finish off tomorrow. I can actually smell the faint aroma of cheese and garlic. One thing I do need to be careful of is that at the last minute I don’t get carried by a current to Belgium, but with only 300 metres to go this shouldn’t really be a problem.

Several people have asked me what my next challenge is going to be and this is something that I have given some thought to. Actually, before I started this swim I had planned to do some running with the aim of completing a 10k run sometime in the spring. Now I am wondering whether 10k is enough and whether I might not just as well do a half-marathon (the Plymouth half-marathon in May would do nicely). The problem is that I absolutely hate running – whenever I have tried to run (seriously) in the past I have simply found that it hurts too much. But this is really why I was thinking of running in the first place and I should be considerably fitter than I was three months ago, so perhaps now would be a good time to start. The other personal challenge I would like to take on is a long-distance walk. I would really like to walk the whole of the South-West coast path (over 650 miles from Minehead in Somerset to Poole in Dorset) but this would require approximately six weeks and would be a massive logistical nightmare so I think it will have to wait. The other, smaller walk that I could take on is across Devon from the south coast at Wembury to the north coast at Lynmouth. I would really like to do this one by walking out of my front door one morning, down to the Barbican area, over the water taxi to Mountbatten, along the coast path to Wembury, turn left and then across Dartmoor and Exmoor to Lynmouth, turn right along the coast path to Minehead, catch the West Somerest Railway (steam train) to Bishop’s Lydeard, catch the bus to Taunton, catch the train back to Plymouth and walk back home and through the front door. It would probably take about a week but I love the idea that it can be door to door. I just need to make sure that I tell my family where I am going on the morning that I step outside… (“I’m just going outside for a walk, I won’t be long”).

Entry filed under: Week 12.

31/11/08 [77]: bloody sunday 02/12/08 [79]: j’arrive en france

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Roger Scrivens  |  December 2, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    So, so close. Have a good time this evening. Paradoxically, I’ll be at a circuit training ski-fit class (2000-2100 hrs) whilst you are probably being wined and dined by the media and all your fans.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


recent posts

Categories

site visits

  • 3,900 visits

