26/11/08 [73]: old friend returns?

November 26, 2008 at 6:40 pm Leave a comment

% swum:    
% days:    
totals: 73 days, 1304 lengths, 112 lengths to go, £540.00 sponsorship

30 lengths this morning, but imagine my dismay when I turned into the car park to find that in the whole of the area where I usually park there were only 4 cars (with ~100 spaces) but one of these was parked in my favourite space. To make matters worse it was a brand new BMW 5 Series. (Check back to the Lucky Lockers entry a few days back to find out what I am going on about here). Fortunately, I managed to get my favourite corner in the changing room and Locker Number 2.

Several weeks ago I wrote about how I had my towel “stolen” while I was swimming and had to dry myself with a very small hand-towel. Now, during the period since then I have spied a blue towel that looks very, very similar to the one that was taken hanging up by the side of the pool as I swim. This towel was there again today and as I was showering after my swim there was a bloke drying himself with it. In fact, he wasn’t just drying himself with it – don’t worry, this isn’t about to get all graphic – but was almost flaunting the fact that he was using this towel, wrapping himself up in it so that the maximum possible area of towel remained visible, smoothing it down, holding it up in front of himself. I couldn’t help feeling that i) it was my towel and ii) he knew it was my towel and iii) he knew that I knew that it was my towel and iv) he was making sure that I knew that he knew that I knew that it was once my towel but wasn’t any longer. I don’t know, perhaps I was being over-sensitive, but I’ll tell you something else – he left the showers before I did and when I got back to the car park, the BMW 5 Series wasn’t there anymore…

On a separate point, I’ve received two more entries to the Limerick Competition – I think I will probably judge the entries and award prizes tomorrow. I don’t want to give too much away but I will say that I suspect that someone is going to be delighted that he’ll have an excuse to go for a celebratory drink after work…

Entry filed under: Week 11.

24/11/08 [71]: under 150… 27/11/08 [74]: too many titles

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


recent posts

Categories

site visits

  • 3,896 visits

