23/11/08 [70]: invisibility cloak

November 23, 2008 at 5:35 pm Leave a comment

% swum:    
% days:    
totals: 70 days, 1240 lengths, 176 lengths to go, £520.00 sponsorship

30 lengths today in a crowded Sunday afternoon pool. Rumour has it that I look a bit like Harry Potter (I have dark hair, wear glasses and, strangely enough, I do actually have a small scar on my forehead…) but today I started to wonder whether I might actually be Master Potter and had forgotten to take off my invisibility cloak. There I was swimming lengths and taking care to steer a path avoiding everyone else, only to find that everyone else in the pool appeared to be oblivious to my presence and seemed hell-bent on leaping randomly into my path (or throwing small children through the air to land in the pool just ahead of me). Fortunately, after a short spell of this, the slow lane became free and and I was able to swim in freedom.

There are now two weeks left in which to complete this challenge. I have swum 1240 lengths which is 87.6% of the required distance with 83.33% of the time gone. I have averaged 17.7 lengths per day and so continuing this rate of progress I will finish on the 79th day, which is Tuesday 2nd December (with 5 days to spare). I have to complete 12.6 lengths per day from now on. There is just one cause for concern at the moment, namely that every other member of my family has suffered or is suffering with a bad cold so if it hits me I might lose a few days. Still, there’s nothing like making things more exciting eh? The timswim worm shows my overall progress. This week (Week 10) has actually been the third worst week so far in terms of distance covered.

timswim worm Week 10

Entry filed under: Week 10.

20/11/08 [67]: lucky lockers 24/11/08 [71]: under 150…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


recent posts

Categories

site visits

  • 3,895 visits

